Blount County School District


Blount County School District


The natural beauty of the Great Smoky Mountains and Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) lakes surround Blount County. Blount County was created out of Knox County in 1795 and was named after Governor William Blount. The county seat, Maryville, was named after his wife, Mary. Blount County has a growing population of approximately 120,000 residents, which covers 584 square miles. Four major interstate highways are easily accessible: I-140, I-40, I-75 and I-81. Also, in the area are the University of Tennessee, Maryville College and Pellissippi State Technical Community College. Blount County Schools operates twenty-one schools: fourteen elementary schools, four middle schools, two high schools, and one alternative school. The school system consists of approximately 11,000 students. Blount County Schools received the Reward Status Designation by the State Department of Education in 2012. A school board consisting of seven elected members and an appointed Director of Schools governs the school system.

Mission Statement

Vision: Educational Excellence for All Students! Mission: To Maximize the Academic Potential of Every Child in a Safe and Personalized Environment.

Equal Employment Opportunity Statement

Blount County Schools is an equal opportunity employer and does not discriminate in employment, recruitment, consideration, or selection on the basis of race, color, sex, age, national origin, disability, or veteran status. Blount County Schools complies with the provisions of Title VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended; Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972; Age Discrimination Act of 1967; and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

Blount County School District

831 Grandview DR, Maryville, TN 37803