Macon County Schools


Macon County Schools


Welcome to Macon County Schools Located in the scenic southwestern part of the state, Macon County is one of the fastest growing counties in North Carolina. Our county is home to approximately 27,750 full-time residents, and our public schools serve almost 4,000 students. There are six elementary schools, one middle school, and one high school within an eight-mile radius of Franklin, the county seat, and two k-12 schools located in Nantahala and Highlands. All ten schools are accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and the North Carolina State Board of Education.

Mission Statement

Our Mission Statement The philosophy guiding Macon County Schools is to provide leadership necessary to ensure appropriate and effective learning experiences. These experiences facilitate intellectual, emotional, social, physical, and cultural development of students enrolled in our schools. Every student is recognized as a unique person endowed with varying needs, interests, and abilities. The school system will strive to provide an environment which fosters the curiosity and the individual creative nature of each student. We believe that the educational experience begins before and extends beyond the school, and is a cooperative effort of home, school, and community. We feel that, through the application of this philosophy, students will be helped to become constructive, participating members of our democratic society.

Equal Employment Opportunity Statement


Macon County Schools

1202 Old Murphy Road, Franklin, NC 28734