Alamance-Burlington Schools


Alamance-Burlington Schools


The Alamance-Burlington School System is a comprehensive school district serving Alamance county and including the municipalities of Burlington, Graham, Elon, Haw River, Green Level, and Mebane. The system was formed in 1996 with the merger of the former Burlington City and Alamance County school systems. Over the past five years, enrollment has increased by 1,459 students for a growth rate of almost seven percent. Currently, the student population is growing by 200 to 250 students annually, and it is anticipated that the school system’s enrollment will continue to grow for the next four years. With a current student enrollment of approximately 22,500 students, the Alamance-Burlington School System ranks as the 16th largest school district in North Carolina. The system and its board of education are committed to providing the highest quality of education to Alamance-Burlington students while maintaining fiscal responsibility and accountability. The system includes a total of 35 schools: 20 elementary schools 7 middle schools 6 high schools 1 alternative school 1 middle college high school The system’s administrative offices are located at 1712 Vaughn Road in Burlington, and all administrators and central support personnel can be reached by calling (336)570-6060. Please visit us at for more information!

Mission Statement

Providing engaging work for our students will enable the Alamance-Burlington School System to educate all students to meet high academic standards and become responsible citizens in a rapidly changing world.

Equal Employment Opportunity Statement


Alamance-Burlington Schools

1712 Vaughn Road, Burlington, NC 27217-2916