New Albany-Floyd County Consolidated Sch


New Albany-Floyd County Consolidated Sch


The New Albany-Floyd County Consolidated School Corporation is a public school district and has operated as a separate governmental unit since 1956. Nestled in the rolling hills of southern Indiana, The New Albany-Floyd County Consolidated School Corporation presides as a traditional symbol of progressive and visionary excellence. Located in Floyd County, Indiana, directly across the scenic Ohio River from Louisville, Kentucky, the corporation serves the city of New Albany, the towns of Georgetown, Galena, Floyds Knobs, Greenville, and Floyd County townships covering approximately 149 square miles. Floyd County is a multi-ethnic community of over 71,000 residents with a variety of racial and religious groups and economic levels represented in the student population. Because of the traditions and excellence of the school corporation, and the beauty of Floyd County, many parents are proud to call Floyd County home! Always one of Indiana’s most dynamic and innovative school systems, the New Albany-Floyd County Consolidated School Corporation became the first combined city-county school corporation in Indiana when the community’s two school systems consolidated in 1956. New Albany-Floyd County Consolidated School Corporation provides a comprehensive educational program that encompasses nine elementary schools, three middle schools, two high schools, an area vocational school, and alternative school programs. The corporation also houses centers for administration, transportation, facilities, and general services. Of 294 public-school districts in the state, NAFCS is the 15th largest school district in student population and employed the 2002 Indiana State Teacher- of- the-Year, Terri Boutin. Mike Kaiser also won the State Teacher of the Year Award in 1991-1992. New Albany High School was the first public high school in the state, opening its doors in 1853. The district’s enrollment totals approximately 12,000 students in pre-kindergarten through high school programs. The district employs more than 1200 full-time personnel, which includes approximately 750 teachers, and 375 part-time personnel.

Mission Statement

The New Albany-Floyd County School Corporation works together with parents and the community to provide an outstanding education in a safe, nurturing environment where all are challenged to reach their maximum potential as respectful, responsible, contributing members of a diverse society. Our Corporation recognizes the parents and community as important members of the educational system. Parents are welcome in the school buildings, and appointments with teachers, counselors or administrators may be scheduled by calling the school. In addition, each school has an active parent organization that works closely with teachers, administrators, and students to enhance the quality of education. A Parent Council, a Community Council, and a Multicultural Advisory Board, consisting of representatives from schools and local community organizations and agencies, meet four times a year to provide an open line of communication to central administrators. These representatives have opportunities to provide suggestions and feedback, impacting major directions and projects of the corporation.

Equal Employment Opportunity Statement

New Albany-Floyd County CSC is an Equal Opportunity Employer. New Albany-Floyd County CSC ensures equal employment opportunities regardless of race, creed, gender, color, national origin, religion, age, sexual orientation or disability. New Albany-Floyd County CSC has a policy of active recruitment of qualified minority teachers and non-certified employees. Any individual needing assistance in making application for any opening should contact the Department of Human Resources.

New Albany-Floyd County Consolidated Sch

2813 Grant Line Rd, New Albany, IN 47150-1087