Jefferson County Public Schools


Jefferson County Public Schools


Jefferson County School District is made up of three schools serving the students PreK-Adult. The schools are Jefferson Elementary School (PreK-5), Jefferson County Middle/High School (6-12), and Jefferson Adult School. All schools are located in Monticello. Our schools have one of the lowest student-teacher ratios in the state. We take pride in striving to meet the individual needs of all students. Come see all that we have to offer! Jefferson County is located in the heart of rolling hills and stately oaks of Florida. It is situated in the Panhandle and is the only county that extends from Georgia on the north to the Gulf of Mexico on the south, thus giving it the nickname the Keystone County. Monticello is the county seat of government and is 23 miles from Tallahassee, Florida's capital city. The county can be reached by traveling U.S. Highways 90, 19, 27 or Interstate 10. Jefferson County has a population of approximately 15,000 with almost 4,000 of those living in the city of Monticello. There are other smaller communities located in the county. These include Lloyd, Aucilla, Drifton, Capps, Lamont, and Wacissa. For more information on Jefferson County, Florida, visit our Chamber of Commerce website by clicking here: ...and for more information visit our Board of Commissioners website by clicking here: Come find all you're looking for with Jefferson County Schools!

Mission Statement

The Jefferson County School System takes pride in striving to meet the individual needs of all students.

Equal Employment Opportunity Statement

No person shall, on the basis of race, color, religion, gender, age, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, political or religious beliefs, national or ethnic origin, or genetic information be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity, or in any employment conditions or practices conducted by this school district except as provided by law SB Policy 2.124, (F.S. 1000.05).

Jefferson County Public Schools