Park County School District # 1


Park County School District # 1


Historically, education has been strongly supported by the Powell community since opening the first classroom in 1908, with Miss Marie Haley. By March 1909, Powell had opened it's first school building to serve 61students. Today, Park County School District #1 encompasses a geographical area of slightly over 1,400 square miles and includes the communities of Powell, Clark, Garland, and Ralston. The District operates thirteen buildings which include: Powell High School Powell Middle School Parkside Elementary School Southside Elementary School Westside Elementary School Shoshone Learning Center Clark Elementary School With the exception of Clark Elementary (located in the community of Clark), all are within the city limits of Powell. Current enrollment of the District is approximately 1,600 students.

Mission Statement

Our Mission: Preparing Students for Life Problem Solvers: Identify the problem and evaluate information in order to reach a solution. Effective Communicators: Demonstrate an ability to clearly express ideas to others. Cooperative Participants: Contribute to the success of group efforts. Responsible Citizens: Contribute time, resources, and talent to the benefit of the community. Lifelong Learners: Apply the common core of knowledge and skills to pursue and achieve goals.

Equal Employment Opportunity Statement


Park County School District # 1

160 North Evarts, Powell, WY 82435